Trennlinie balu mit Stenen.gif (4114 Byte)




Trennlinie balu mit Stenen.gif (4114 Byte)



Tibet lies at the centre of Asia, with an area of 2.5 million square kilometers. The earth´s highest mountains, a vast arid plateau and great river valleys make up the physical homeland of 6 million Tibetans. It has an average altitude of 13,000 feet above sea level.


berg.JPG (6857 Byte) 

picture: copyright Dr. Ing. Klaus Dierks


ladakhwarila.JPG (8952 Byte)

picture: copyright Dr. Ing. Klaus Dierks


tibet.JPG (15711 Byte)

picture: copyright: Dr. Ing. Klaus Dierks

sherpakinder.JPG (9359 Byte)

picture: copyright Dr. Ing. Klaus Dierks


Tibet is comprised of the three provinces of Amdo (now split by China into the provinces of Qinghai, Gansu and Sichuan), Kham (largely incorporated into the Chinese provinces of Sichuan, Yunnan and Qinghai), and U-Tasang (which, together with western Kham, is today referred to by China as the Tibet Autonomous Region).


Tibetans use the term Tibet to mean the three qrovinces described above, i.e., the area traditionally known as Tibet before the 1959-1950 invasion.


The Potala one very important temple is not damaged. The Potala used to be the Summer Residence of his Holyness the Dalai Lama.




Despite over 40 years of Chinese occupation of Tibet, the Tibetan people refuse to be conquered and subjugated by China. The present Chinese policy, a combination of demographic and economic manipulation and discrimination, aims to suppress the Tibetan issue by changing the very character and identity of Tibet and its people.


Today Tibetans are outnumbered by Han Chinese population in ther own homeland.



Trennlinie balu mit Stenen.gif (4114 Byte)


The Tibetan national flag



flagge.JPG (10396 Byte)


Today people get punished if they have or show the Tibetan flag in public.

The Tibetan flag like it is today was createt by the 13th Dalai Lama (1876 - 1933)



Explanation of the Symbolism of the National Flag of Tibet:


the surrounding border The surrounding border of yellow adorning the perimeter represents the spread and flourishing in all directions and times of the purified gold like teachings of the Buddha.
red and blue bands Across the dark blue sky six red bands spread representing the original ancestors of the Tibetan people - the six tribes called Se, Mu, Dong, Tong, Dru and Ra which in turn gave the (twelve) descendants. The combination of six red bands (for the tribes) and six dark blue bands for the sky represents the incessant enactment of the virtuous deeds of protection of the spiritual teachings and secular life by the black and red guardian protector deities with which Tibet has had connection for a very long time.
Snow-clad mountain In the centre stands a magnificent, thickly snow-clad mountain which represents the great nation of Tibet widely known as the Land Surrounded by Snow Mountains.
Sun At the tip of the snow mountain the sun, with its rays brilliantly shining in all directions, represents the equal enjoyment of freedom, spiritual and material happiness and prosperity by all beings in the land of Tibet.
Snow lions On the slopes of the mountain there proudly stand a pair of snow lions blazing with the manes of fearlessness, which represent the country´s victorious accomplishment of a unified spiritual and secular life.
The three coloured jewel The beautiful and radiant three coloured jewel held aloft represents the ever-present reverence respectfully held by the Tibetan people towards the Three Supreme Jewels (the Buddhist objects of refuge: Buddha, Dharma and Sangha).
The two coloured swirling jewel The two coloured swirling jewel held between the two lions represents the peoples guarding and cherishing the self discipline of correct ethical behaviour, principally represented by the practices of the ten exalted virtues and the 16 humane modes of conduct.


Trennlinie balu mit Stenen.gif (4114 Byte)